## MAC3: Multiscale Modeling and Nonlinear Analysis (since 2002)



Ute Ebert At CWI since 1998 Prof. at TU Eindhoven



Willem Hundsdorfer At CWI since 1984 Prof. at U Nijmegen



Jens Rademacher At CWI since 9/2006 (math cluster NDNS<sup>+</sup>) Docent at U Leiden

Joke Blom: MAC1 till 2006, MAC3 in 2007-08, MAC4 since 2009 Frank Bruggeman: into CWI-MAC3 in 2007-08, MAC4 since 2009











## Ebert's role in plasma community:

- Supervisor of two experimental PhD theses (Briels 2007, Nijdam 2011)
- Board member of research school "Plasma Physics and Radiation Technology"
- Board member STW-research program "Building on Transient Plasmas" (2009-14)
- Board member FOM-research program "Control Magnetohydrodynamics" (2009-15)
- Member MT of EU-COST-action P18 on Lightning (2005-09)
- and of ESF-program "Thunderstorm effects on atm.-ionosphere system" (2011-16)
- $\bullet$  Associate editor of "Contributions to Plasma Physics" (2011-...), conferences ...

(I knew essentially nothing about discharges in 2000. A huge need of theory!)

















## MAC3: Multiscale Modeling and Nonlinear Analysis (since 2002)





**Output 2005 – 2010:** 91 journal articles (51 on "plasmas") 22 ref. proc. articles (19 on "plasmas") 7 PhD theses 4 plenary, 55 invited talks at int. conf. 8 int. conferences co-organized 7 articles for larger public

13 talks for larger public 20 media appearances (2 TV, 5 radio, 13 newspaper)

8 PhD's + PD's into academia since 2002 (7 in "plasmas")



Current PhD students: Anna Mozartova (2007-2011, W) Sjors v/d Stelt (2007-2011, J+MAC1) Gideon Wormeester (2008-2012, U) Aram Markosyan (2010-2014, U+W) Christoph Köhn (2010-2014, U) Igor Savostianov (2011-2015, W) Delyan Zhelyazov (2011-2015, J+U) Eric Siero (2011-2015, J+Univ Leiden) Jannis Teunissen (2011-2015, U)

**Current postdocs:** Chao Li (U+W) Diana Mikhailova (U)

All on external grants: NWO (EW, Complexity, FOM), STW, KAUST

